December 31st is the Deadline for Spingarn Award Nominations

98th Spingarn Award winner Jessye Norman with the NAACP Chairman Roslyn Brock and national board.

Roslyn M. Brock, Chairman NAACP Board of Directors has announced that the NAACP is soliciting nominations for the 99th SPINGARN AWARD.  All nominations for the 99th Spingarn Medal must be submitted, in writing, on or before December 31, 2013.  To be accepted, the postmark date on the envelop must be on or before December 31, 2013. 

Nominations should be addressed to:  The Spingarn Medal Award Committee, Attention:  Mrs. Mildred B. Roxborough, 1095 Avenue of the Americas, Suite 24D, and New York, NY  10036. Nominations must include a detailed, current biographical profile of the nominee, highlighting relevant activities and achievements.

The final selection of the Medalist is made by a Committee of Award, which is selected by the Association's Board of Directors.  The Committee's decision is final in all matters affecting the Award.

Read more about the Spingarn here