NAACP Announces Search Committee Members for New President and CEO

(Baltimore, MD) – The NAACP has announced the members of its search committee for the Association’s new president and CEO.  The members are a distinguished group of leaders from a variety of fields. The committee includes both members of the national board and key stakeholders.

“I am confident that this diverse group of established leaders will help us find a talented new president and CEO that will continue to successfully execute the mission of the NAACP,” stated Roslyn M. Brock, Chairman of the NAACP Board of Directors.  

The committee members are:

From the NAACP National Board

Rev. Theresa Dear (Committee Chair) – Founder, HR4 Non-Profits

Lamell McMorris (Committee Vice Chair) – Founder and CEO Perennial Strategy Group

Rev. Dr. Amos C. Brown – Pastor, Third Baptist Church, San Francisco, California

Rabbi David Saperstein – Director, Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism

Derrick Johnson – President, NAACP Mississippi State Conference

Dr. Dwayne Proctor – Senior Program Officer, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Outside Stakeholders

Mary Kay Henry – International President, Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

Stephen L. Hightower – President & CEO, Hightower Petroleum Co.

Laura Murphy – Director, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

Elaine R. Jones, Esq., – Former President & Director Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense Fund

Rosemary Harris Lytle – President Colorado, Montana, Wyoming NAACP Area Conference

Michael Coleman – Youth & College Division President, University of Texas, Arlington

Peter Rose – Senior Managing Director, Public Affairs Group, Blackstone


Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation's oldest and largest nonpartisan civil rights organization. Its members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities.  You can read more about the NAACP’s work and our five “Game Changer” issue areas here.

< View All Press Releases