National Board of Directors Elects New Members to Help Guide NAACP

March 19, 2007

NAACP National Board of Directors Chairman Julian Bond announces the selection of several new members to the board. The new members were elected during the body's recent annual meeting in New York City. The NAACP National Board of Directors establishes policy for the Association and its more than 2,200 units.

"We are pleased to welcome our new Board members," Chairman Bond said. "They remind us that the fight for freedom is constantly being renewed and reinvigorated."

Former two term San Francisco mayor and California State Assembly Speaker Willie L. Brown, Jr. was elected to represent Region I. Brown has been at the center of California politics, government and civic life for 40 years. From civil rights to education reform, tax policy, health care and affirmative action, Brown has left his mark. He currently heads the Willie L. Brown Jr. Institute on Politics and Public Service where he imparts knowledge and skills with a new generation of California leaders. Region I consists of California, Oregon, Washington, Utah, Arizona, Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho and Nevada.

Scot X. Esdaile, of New Haven, Conn., was chosen in Region II. The Virginia State University graduate is president of the New Haven NAACP branch, the largest in New England, and also president of the Connecticut State Conference of NAACP. He has served as chairman of the area's annual Black Expo and is a Kelly M. Alexander Sr. Leadership Award recipient. Region II consists of Delaware, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont and Rhode Island.

Frank A. Humphrey, of Madison, Wisc., was elected in Region III. The committed activist and advocate for civil rights and youth enrichment opportunities is a NAACP Life and Golden Heritage Member. His service to the Association spans more than 23 years. He is Director of the Bureau of Local Financial Assistance in the Wisconsin Department of Revenue and speaks out against government regulation that is ill-conceived and injurious to African Americans and other disadvantaged groups. He holds law and business degrees from the University of Wisconsin and Loyola University of Chicago respectively. Region III consists of Ohio, West Virginia, Illinois, Michigan, Kentucky, Indiana and Wisconsin.

Kansas City, Mo. NAACP Branch President Anita L. Russell will hold the Region IV position. Russell, serving in her fourth two-year term as a branch president, is also the second vice president of the Missouri State Conference of NAACP. Under her leadership, branch membership doubled to more than 1,200. The Ottawa University alum and Southwestern Bell retiree currently serves on the Sixteenth Judicial Circuit Commission of Jackson County and was appointed to the Advisory Board for the Office of Community Complaints and the Community Policy Review Committee by the Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners. Region IV consists of Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, North and South Dakota, Wyoming, Colorado, Minnesota, Montana and Nebraska.

James Gallman, Sr., of Aiken, SC, was elected from Region V. The retired assistant superintendent for administration in the Aiken County Public School system is immediate past president of the South Carolina State Conference of NAACP. He has served as director of the Aiken/Barnwell Regional Head Start Program and is a member of the Aiken Housing Authority Board of Commissioners. The Claflin College and University of Tennessee graduate is a past Aiken County Basketball Coach of the Year. He is an NAACP Golden Heritage Life Member and has received the organization's Kelly M. Alexander Sr. Leadership Award and the Benjamin L. Hooks 'Keeper of the Flame" Award. Region V consists of Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, Tennessee, North and South Carolina.

Ernest L. Johnson, of Baton Rouge, La., will fill the Region VI board seat. Johnson has more than 30 years professional leadership and management experience in financial, educational and public policy positions. He was appointed as a public delegate to the United Nations and currently serves as president of the Louisiana State Conference of NAACP. The Grambling University graduate earned his law degree from the Southern University Law Center and established a law practice focusing in general, corporate and civil rights litigation. Since 1996, the ordained minister has also been president and CEO of the Louisiana Community Development Capital Fund Inc., a consulting company that provides financial and business management assistance to emerging companies. Region VI consists of Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Arkansas and Louisiana.

Donald Cash, of Landover, Md. was selected in Region VII. Cash serves as the region's chairman and is the Executive Assistant to the President of United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local 400, the largest union of its type in the U.S. and Canada, representing more than 40,000 staffers in that industry. He is founder of Faces of Our Children Inc. - Sickle Cell Foundation, sits on the board of the A. Phillip Randolph Institute and is a recipient of the NAACP's Benjamin L. Hooks 'Keeper of the Flame" Award. Region VII consists of Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia.

Rev. Wendell Anthony, of Detroit was elected as a member at large. Rev. Anthony is founder of the Freedom Institute, a non-profit urban think tank, and the Fannie Lou Hamer Political Action Committee. The certified social worker and Wayne State University graduate is pastor of Fellowship Chapel and has traveled and preached extensively throughout Africa and the Caribbean. He is also a member of several boards and councils in Detroit including that of the First independence National Bank, the National Association of Securities Professionals-Detroit and the Detroit Building Authority. He was elected president of the Detroit NAACP branch, the largest in the nation, in 1993.

Dr. Annie B. Martin, of New York, NY; Katherine Egland, of Gulfport, Miss.; Carolyn Coleman, of Pleasant Garden, NC; Rupert Richardson, of Baton Rouge, La.; William Lucy and Bond, both of Washington, D.C. were re-elected as at-large members. Rev. Michael Nelson, of Detroit; who was re-elected at last summer's national convention, began serving another term in an at-large position during the annual meeting.

Re-elected as board officers were: Bond as Chairman; Roslyn M. Brock, of Elkridge, Md., Vice Chair; and Coleman as Assistant Secretary. Elected as officers were Jesse Turner, Jr., of Memphis, Tenn., as Treasurer, and Humphrey as Assistant Treasurer.

As an additional note -- for the first time, the Executive Committee of the board has three youth members. During the annual meeting Chairman Bond appointed Gina Clayton of Altadena, Calif., and Aubrey Hooper of Dallas. The third youth member, Erica McLaughlin, of Columbia, Md., was already serving.

Richard Womack and Dr. David Goatley, both of Washington, D.C.; Hazel N. Dukes, of New York, NY; and Turner were re-appointed to the board by its membership. Bishop Clarence Carr, of Marietta, Ga., was elected to fill the remaining term of the late Nate Gooden.

Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization. Its members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities, conducting voter mobilization and monitoring equal opportunity in the public and private sectors.

< View All Press Releases