Press Release


March 31, 2019


Presenters Included Chris Rock, Viola Davis, Kamala Harris, Letitia Wright, Lupita Nyong’o, Kerry Washington, Cory Booker, Issa Rae, Lena Waithe, and more

Beyoncé Announced as NAACP Entertainer of the Year


LOS ANGELES (March 30, 2019) – The winners of the 50th NAACP Image Awards were announced tonight during the live broadcast on TV One from The Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. The live special was hosted by Anthony Anderson, who also doubled as nominee, and took home the award for Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series for his role on black-ish. Beyoncé was honored as the NAACP Entertainer of the Year, and Congresswoman Maxine Waters was presented the NAACP Chairman’s Award.  Additional winners included radio host and personality Tom Joyner who was presented with the Vanguard Award, which recognizes an individual whose groundbreaking work increases our understanding and awareness of racial and social issues and NE-YO, who was awarded the inaugural Black & Positively Golden Music Honor Sponsored by McDonald’s, and Shawn “JAY-Z” Carter” who NAACP President Derrick Johnson presented with the prestigious President’s Award.


In addition, some of the biggest names in film, television and music appeared in the LIVE telecast including: Algee Smith, Chris Rock, Chrissy Metz, Colman Domingo, Cory Booker, Cynthia Erivo, Danai Gurira, David Alan Grier, Donna Brazile, Issa Rae, Jimmy O. Yang, John Legend, Kamala Harris, Kate Beckinsale, Kerry Washington, KiKi Layne, Laura Harrier, Lena Waithe, Leo Russell, Letitia Wright, Lupita Nyong’o, Malinda Williams, Marsai Martin, Mike Colter, Mike Epps, Regina Hall, Ron Stallworth, Roshon Fegan, Sanaa Lathan, Stephan James, Tai Beauchamp, Thandie Newton, Tika Sumpter, Trevor Noah, Van Jones, Vin Diesel, Viola Davis, and Winston Duke,


The 50th NAACP Image Awards production team included Executive Producers Reginald Hudlin and Phil Gurin, Tony McCuin as Director, Byron Phillips as Producer, and Robin Reinhardt as Talent Producer.


The winners of the 50th NAACP Image Awards in the non-televised categories were announced during a gala dinner celebration that took place March 29 at The Beverly Hilton. The event was hosted by The Real’s Adrienne Houghton, Loni Love and Tamera Mowry-Housley.

The NAACP Image Awards is the premiere multicultural awards show. It celebrates the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature and film, and also honors individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors.

For all information and the latest news, please visit the official NAACP Image Awards website at:

FB: /naacpimageaward | Twitter: @naacpimageaward (#ImageAwards)



Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation’s oldest and largest nonpartisan civil rights organization. Its members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities. Read more about the NAACP’s work and our six “Game Changer” issue areas at


About TV One

Launched in January 2004, TV One serves 59 million households, offering a broad range of real-life and entertainment-focused original programming, classic series, movies and music designed to entertain and inform a diverse audience of adult black viewers. The network represents the best in black culture and entertainment with fan favorite shows Uncensored, Unsung, Rickey Smiley For Real, Fatal Attraction and The NAACP Image Awards. In addition, TV One is the cable home of blockbuster drama Empire. TV One is solely owned by Urban One, Inc., formerly known as Radio One, Inc. [NASDAQ: UONE and UONEK,], the largest African-American owned multi-media company primarily targeting Black and urban audiences.


For more information about TV One’s upcoming programming, including original movies, visit the network’s companion website at TV One viewers can also join the conversation by connecting via social media on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook (@tvonetv) using the hashtag #ImageAwards50.




Media Contacts

NAACP Image Awards

Sunshine Sachs |

(323) 822-9300



Tosha Whitten-Griggs |

(301) 755-0020


Below are all of the winners for the 50th NAACP Image Awards in bold:


Outstanding ComedySeries

  • “Atlanta” (FX Networks)
  • “black-ish” (ABC)
  • “Dear White People” (Netflix)
  • “grown-ish” (Freeform)
  • “Insecure” (HBO)



  • Anthony Anderson, “black-ish” (ABC)
  • Cedric the Entertainer “The Neighborhood” (CBS)
  • Donald Glover, “Atlanta” (FX Networks)
  • Dwayne Johnson, “Ballers” (HBO)
  • Tracy Morgan, “The Last O.G.” (TBS)



  • Danielle Brooks, “Orange is the New Black” (Netflix)
  • Issa Rae, “Insecure” (HBO)
  • Logan Browning, “Dear White People” (Netflix)
  • Tracee Ellis Ross, “black-ish ” (ABC)
  • Yara Shahidi, “grown-ish” (Freeform)


  • “How To Get Away With Murder” (ABC)
  • “Power” (Starz)
  • “Queen Sugar” (OWN)
  • “The Chi” (Showtime)
  • “This Is Us” (NBC)



  • Jason Mitchell, “The Chi” (Showtime)
  • Keith David, “Greenleaf” (OWN)
  • Kofi Siriboe, “Queen Sugar” (OWN)
  • Omari Hardwick, “Power” (Starz)
  • Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us ” (NBC)



  • Alfre Woodard, “Marvel’s Luke Cage” (Netflix)
  • Naturi Naughton, “Power” (Starz)
  • Rutina Wesley, “Queen Sugar” (OWN)
  • Taraji P. Henson, “Empire” (FOX)
  • Viola Davis, “How to Get Away with Murder” (ABC)



  • “Dirty Computer” – Janelle Monáe  (Atlantic Records)
  • “Ella Mai” – Ella Mai (10 Summers/Interscope Records)
  • “Even More” – MAJOR. (BOE/Empire)
  • “Everything Is Love” – The Carters (Roc Nation)
  • “I Used To Know Her: The Prelude” – H.E.R. (RCA Records)



  • Chadwick  Boseman – “Black Panther”  (Marvel Studios)
  • Michael B Jordan – “Creed II” (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios)
  • Denzel Washington – “The Equalizer 2” (Columbia Pictures)
  • John David Washington – “BlacKkKlansman” (Focus Features)
  • Stephan James – “If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna Pictures)



  • Amandla Stenberg – The Hate U Give” (20th Century Fox)
  • Constance Wu – “Crazy Rich Asians” (Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • KiKi Layne  – “If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna Pictures)
  • Sanaa Lathan – “Nappily Ever After” (Marc Platt Production/Badabing Pictures Production for Netflix)
  • Viola Davis  – “Widows” (20th Century Fox)



  • Storm Reid – “A Wrinkle In Time” (Walt Disney Studios)
  • Letitia Wright – “Black Panther”  (Marvel Studios)
  • Winston Duke -  “Black Panther”  (Marvel Studios)
  • John David Washington -  “BlacKkKlansman” (Focus Features)
  • KiKi Layne – “If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna Pictures)



  • “Black Panther” (Marvel Studios)
  • “BlacKkKlansman” (Focus Features)
  • “Crazy Rich Asians” (Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna Pictures)
  • “The Hate U Give” (20th Century Fox



  • Beyoncé
  • Chadwick Boseman
  • LeBron James
  • Regina King
  • Ryan Coogler